You can’t earn it.


 “Long ago the LORD said to Israel: “I have loved you, my people, with an everlasting love. With unfailing love I have drawn you to myself.” – ‭‭Jeremiah‬ ‭31:3‬ ‭NLT‬‬

When I became a Christian an inner transformation started to take place, I knew that I fell short of the character God wanted me to have, I knew I needed to be a better person, turn my back on my old life and walk courageously into my new one. 

But how? 

How could I be a better person? He knew I’d tried, I was at all of the church meetings, I was the first to volunteer my time, I worked for charities in my ‘spare’ time, I donated my money, I blessed people with things they might need, why was I still not changing from within?

I’d get frustrated then and I would give up on myself. After a bad day I’d turn to alcohol, open a bottle of wine whilst cooking dinner, which would quite often turn in to 2 bottles, think over all of the naff things that had happened through the day, pity myself and beat myself up. Then, this would turn in to anger which caused friction in my marriage, because I was frustrated with myself I’d be frustrated with my husband and kids too, and there it was a nice big destructive cycle. 

Along comes the guilt and I wouldn’t be able to sleep, I’d be writing destructive things about myself in my journal, I’d be telling myself how horrible I was, and the next day I’d be back to the feet of Jesus on my knees the next day asking why?

After a while, once I was prepared to listen, He started to reveal to me why this was, in my heart I heard, “you can NOT earn my love, it’s a gift, you must accept it.” Look what it says here, God tells us I have loved you, my people, with an everlasting love. With unfailing love I have drawn you to myself.” – ‭‭Jeremiah‬ ‭31:3‬ ‭NLT‬‬

God already HAS given us His love, we didn’t DO anything for it He just DOES. No matter how hard I try, no matter what good works I do I can not earn His love.

It doesn’t work like it does in the world, you meet someone and fall a little bit in love with them and as the days, weeks, months and years go by you fall deeper and deeper. No, not with God, He loved us before we were born.

No matter how rubbish I feel about me, He loves me, That’s ace! His grace is covering me, and that helps me to live aligned to His will. 

Now I know this I’m so joyful, joyful because I have God in my life, I don’t falter because I’m too joyful, I’ve no need to dislike myself in the way that I used to, not only does God love me more than I can possibly imagine, He has given me the ability to love me too, and I accept that I am made in His image, I carry godlike character within me to help to radiate His love to the world, how amazing is that?

Now I don’t have bad days at work, and when I do God shows me why and that it’s not a bad thing, He has given me grace of my own to forgive people that may cause me offence, He has given me patience to deal with situations that used to frustrate me, and because I don’t have bad days I don’t turn to destructive behaviour like drinking. Because I don’t drink so much in frustration, I don’t loose my temper so much, because I don’t loose my temper so much I don’t feel guilty and because I don’t feel guilty all the time I can actually feel joyful!

Each and everyday I thank God for His intervention and live a very blessed life. We really are loved beyond our own comprehension, we can’t earn more of our Fathers love, once we have this revelation things will change, they have for me and pray they do for you too. He loved us first. Amen. 💕💕

2 thoughts on “You can’t earn it.

  1. Thank you so much for sharing this so honestly and openly. Its so easy to beat ourselves up and believe the lie that we are bad or messed up or too far gone. Your story proves that we can never ever be separated from Gods love and no matter what we try to do we can never earn His love. All God asks from us is to receive His perfect love and walk in it. You are a blessing to me Faithful Mommy. Keep sharing! xxxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

